Jacobsen to Serve as New York Six Chair

Joyce P. Jacobsen, president of Hobart and William Smith Colleges in Geneva, NY, will serve as chair of the New York Six Liberal Arts Consortium for a two-year term, beginning July 1, 2022.  As chair, Jacobsen will convene meetings of the New York Six presidents and lead deliberations of strategic collaboration opportunities, provide oversight for the Consortium staff, and represent the Consortium with foundations and other groups.

Jacobsen has served as president of Hobart and William Smith since July 2019, the first woman to serve as president of the Colleges. She is a renowned scholar of economics, an award-winning teacher and skilled administrator with more than three decades of experience taking on increasingly complex roles in higher education. In 2021, Jacobsen received the prestigious Carolyn Shaw Bell Award, given to an individual who has furthered the status of women in the economics profession. In addition to her New York Six service, Jacobsen is a member of the Board of Trustees of the Commission on Independent Colleges and Universities in New York, and is a member of the NCAA Division III Presidents Advisory Group.

“I am pleased to take on this role for the New York Six, and to give back to the consortium that has, since I began my presidency, given HWS so much,” says Jacobsen. “The New York Six is a vital resource of collaboration and cost-savings, one that is a model for all of higher education on how colleges and universities can partner together to create better experiences for students and enhanced resources for faculty and staff. I look forward to continuing this important work.”

“From the moment she arrived at the Colleges, President Jacobsen has been a valued colleague to her fellow New York Six presidents, and a thoughtful and insightful resource for the Consortium staff,” said Amy Cronin, executive director of the New York Six. “We look forward to working closely with her to ensure that the Consortium is providing maximum benefit to our member institutions.”

Jacobsen succeeds Colgate President Brian W. Casey as New York Six chair. Casey served as chair for the 2020-2022 term, leading the Consortium through the challenges of a pandemic and strengthening connections across the campuses.